“I Love What I Do” Shotgun 2013- Genny

Image

Hunting has always been in my family, I’ve grown up watching my older brother get his deer with bow and guns. I’ve always been jealous since I lived in the city far away. When I came home to visit, I’d go out with him and sit in the tree stands with him or push the deer, but it’s not the same as actually hunting.

 

The moment I moved back to this small little town the first thing I planned on was getting my license. I started my first year on regular season (gun only.) I went out on Opening Day on no sleep (worked an overnight shift,) and as I was sitting in my tree stand alone, so nervous and scared, I fought falling asleep. After what seemed like forever a herd of doe came out, being to nervous to realize they were a lot further then planned, I shot and missed. I had no luck all season and ended the year empty handed.

 

This year I decided to put out the money to get a bow and everything that goes with it (it cost a lot to start up bow.) I got my license, and I was ready. I accepted this challenger because bow is a lot harder and more frustrating. One afternoon while I was home, I looked out my window and saw this four point that I’ve been watching walk through my yard. I walked off my deck, at 30 yards I pulled back, aimed and released. I watched the arrow go right into the area you want it. The deer kicked and was off.

 

I waited what seemed like forever. Finally it was time to track. What seemed like a kill shot by the perfect trail of blood after walking what seemed forever suddenly stopped. It was pitch black out and we couldn’t find anything. I went back in the morning. I looked for hours and found nothing. That perfect blood trail just ended.

 

With disappointment I wanted to give up bow and wait for regular season. My brother tried to fix my discouragement the next day saying that him and my gramps spotted a nice buck with what may have been eight points or more. He had a wide and tall rack. My brother pretty much threw my bow at me and dragged me out there. Fearing the worst, like not being able to find a deer that I shot again, I followed my brother into the woods. We thought the deer ran and were long gone when a car scared them; boy, were we wrong.

 

All of a sudden a doe was 20 yards staring me in the eye. My brother nervous for me is telling me to pull back. I do, the doe is stomping, my brother very loudly whispers, “Genny, Genny! Wait! Buck, buck, buck!” So keeping my bow pulled back for what seemed like forever (keeping one pulled back becomes tough) the buck came in plain view, broadside; the perfect setup. He doesn’t even notice me; he just wants the doe. I aim and released. Missed! He just stared at me then walked off. Unfortunately I only had that one arrow that my brother handed me in the house. So that was the second disappointment with two nice bucks.

 

I finally said I was done with bow until late season. Finally opening day for regular season comes back around. Once again I am on no sleep, but I’m to excited to no go out. My brother comes to get me, and we walk out to our separate stands. Five minutes sitting in mine I heard some rustling in the red brush across from me, and then I see a flick of a white tail. It was probably a doe, but she was running away from me into more brush. So I go back to watching. I’m sitting in my stand thinking I’m never going to get my first deer. My brother calls to check on me. After I hang up I check my phone. As I was putting my phone away I looked up and three doe (or so I thought) were staring at me.

 

I tried aiming at the big doe but she was behind another one. She was ready to run so I had no time. I aimed and shot the doe in front of her because the third one was smaller. I had to aim for the neck because of a branch in the way. I watch the deer drop right there. All I could think was, “I got my first deer!” Grinning ear to ear, I was so happy that the meat everyone would eat at dinner would be because of me. I was so happy I was shaking trying to call my brother to get down to my stand. He comes down, I somehow get out my stand, smiling and shaking and all. He walks over to make sure it’s dead, looks at me and goes, “Congrats, not only did you get your first deer, you got your first button buck.” Then he went on about how he was small. I think he was proud of me for getting one but upset I got one first on opening day. Over all I am so happy and proud of the deer I got. I don’t care if it’s small, it’s a deer and I am thankful for the food it will get me.

 

I will continue doing both bow and regular season hunting. I may get discouraged sometimes but when I’m out in the woods I am at peace. I don’t care if someone is trying to get a hold of me or if I mad at someone. Because out there it goes all away. You are too busy taking in the beauty and life of the woods to notice anything going on in reality. Hunting should be seen as a good thing. A learning experience. Dads should teach not only their sons but their daughters as well. It connects a family, it makes you thankful to be able to feed yourselves. And it gives you that pride and accomplishment. I am a hunter and I love what I do. 

Leave a comment